NSW AM Stations
NSW A.M. Radio Stations
A part of probably the most complete record ever compiled of Australian A.M. broadcasting stations.
13 Aug 1919 – AWA Sydney
This was the primary A.W.A. demonstration of music broadcasts by Chairman Ernest Fisk, throughout a lecture on the Royal Society of N.S.W., 5 Elizabeth Road. The one valve A.W.A. transmitter was at Wi-fi Home, 97 Clarence Road, protecting a distance of 525 metres. 20 phone earpieces with tin horns connected had been hung from the ceiling as loudspeakers. The published was solely lengthy sufficient to play the file “God Save the King”. Earlier, utilizing 21 KHz. in 1918, Fisk was the primary to speak immediately between Australia and the UK. In 1920, A.W.A. broadcast common weekly concert events.
1921 – 2CM – Sydney
Experimental station owned by “Australia’s main newbie”, Charles MacLurcan. Began on lengthy wave (214 KHz.) utilizing seven watts, with Sunday night time classical concert events. First licensed in 1911 as a Morse code station with callsign XDM (X2CM in 1921). He broke quite a few lengthy distance radio information together with a .0037 watt transmission heard in New Zealand. Usually heard in San Francisco. (Picture Caption) Australia’s first licensed broadcast station in 1922. (That is Charles shortwave QSL card) (Picture Caption) The Will James band practising within the Wentworth Resort ballroom earlier than a reside broadcast on 2CM. (Picture Caption) Announcer Josie Melville on air 6-3-1923. The one Australian newbie allowed to function throughout WW1. Located at Strathfield after exams atop his household’s Wentworth Resort. Issued with the primary broadcasting licence in Australia (licence primary, signed by the Prime Minister, Billy Hughes in 1922). (Most historians credit score 2SB 23-11-1923 as our first licensed broadcaster). Charles obtained over 2,000 letters from listeners praising his first transmissions. First station to publish a program information. Each program ended with “Don’t neglect to wind up the cat and put out the clock”. Moved to brief wave on 21 Feb 1924. Charles MacLurcan was President of the Wi-fi Institute of Australia after Ernest Fisk, and designed and constructed the favored MacLurcan radio receiver. (Additionally see 2HD 27 Jan 1925). Callsign 2CM is the one one listed by the Federal Authorities as “By no means to be reissued”, in recognition of the pioneering achievements of Charles.
1921 – 2YG – Sydney
Experimental station owned by Ray Allsop. Transmitter at Coogee. Ray was first issued with a Morse code licence in 1911, with callsign XCA, when solely 13 years outdated. He broadcast weekly concert events on 1395 KHz. which had been additionally broadcast on 2ZH from 1923. Ray was later appointed the Chief Engineer of 2BL after Cecil Stevenson. Ray was the primary individual in Australia to push for the introduction of F.M. He was additionally the primary to assemble and exhibit stereo gear (10 Apr 1938). (Additionally see 6WF relating to stereo). Ray developed submarine detection radar for the Navy throughout WWII. He was appointed a member of the Australian Broadcasting Management Board in 1953, and was awarded an O.B.E. in 1971. (Additionally see 2HP 1922, 2ZH 1923, 2SB 13 Nov 1923, and 2BL 1 Mar 1924).
1922 – 2ZN – Newcastle
Experimental station owned by N. Olsen. Transmitter at Waratah.
1922 – 2JR – Sydney
Experimental station owned by A.W.A. engineer, Joe Reed. Transmitter at Summer season Hill. He carried out joint experiments with 2CM, and was the primary Chief Engineer of 2SB. He additionally designed the 5,000 watt transmitters for A.W.A. “A” class stations. Retired as Chief Engineer of the Abroad Telecommunications Fee.
1922 – 2DE – Sydney
Experimental station owned by W. Renshaw. Transmitter at Roseville.
1922 – 2WC – Sydney
Experimental station owned by W. Morey. Transmitter at Watersleigh. This callsign was reissued in 1926 as a broadcast licence at Goulburn.
1922 – 2XY – Newcastle
Experimental station owned by Newcastle Alderman, Harry Douglas. Transmitter at Hamilton. Later grew to become industrial licence 2HD. (See 2HD 27 Jan 1925).
1922 – 2GR – Sydney
Experimental station owned by J. Marks utilizing 10 watts at Rose Bay (100 watts at Bellevue Hill from 5 Aug 1923), on air for one hour six days every week. This callsign was later reissued to A. Robinson at Haberfield.
1922 – 2DN – Sydney
Experimental station owned by G. Blanchard. Transmitter at Newtown. This callsign was reissued as a broadcast licence at Deniliquin in 1932.
1922 – 2ZZ – Sydney
Experimental station owned by C. Smith. Transmitter at Cremorne. On air 2130-2200.
1922 – 2IJ – Sydney
Experimental station owned by A. Grey. Transmitter at Killara. On air 1930-2030 each day.
1922 – 2IY – Sydney
Experimental station owned by Cecil Stevenson. Transmitter at Randwick. (Cecil was later a Director and Chief Engineer of 2SB/2BL, then proprietor of 2UE). He additionally owned the Radio Home electrical store. Cecil’s son, Murray, was the primary Chief Engineer of ATN-7 TV.
1922 – 2YI – Sydney
Experimental station owned by Phil Nolan. Transmitter at Double Bay. On air 2030-2100 each day.
1922 – 2YH – Sydney
Experimental station owned by Walter Hannam. Transmitter at Balmain. Walter fashioned the Wi-fi Institute of Australia in 1910, and was the primary radio operator in Antarctica (Mawson’s expedition 1911-1912).
1922 – 2JP – Sydney
Experimental station owned by J. Pike. Transmitter at Greenwich. Beforehand licensed as Morse code station XJP in 1911 at Arncliffe.
1922 – 2KC – Sydney
Experimental station owned by R.H. Fry. Transmitter at Croydon. Mr. Fry was later appointed a Director of 2SB.
1922 – 2LX – Sydney
Experimental station owned by the Burwood Radio Membership.
1922 – 2LB – Sydney
Experimental station owned by the L. Bean & Co. Radio Store.
1922 – 2TH – Bangalow
Broadcast station owned by the T.H. Squelch Radio Store.
1922 – 2PS – Sydney
Experimental station owned by P. Stephens. Transmitter at Balmain.
1922 – 2AG – Sydney
Experimental station owned by the Ashfield Storage Service Station.
1922 – 2ZF – Narrandera
Experimental station owned by Phil Roberts.
1922 – 2CX – Sydney
Experimental station owned by H. Stowe. Transmitter at Chatswood.
1922 – 2BQ – Sydney
Experimental station owned by F. Easton. Transmitter at Bondi.
1922 – 2NE – Sydney
Experimental station owned by J. Scott. Transmitter at Epping.
1922 – 2ED – Sydney
Experimental station owned by H. Gregory. Transmitter at Abbotsford.
1922 – 2ER – Sydney
Experimental station owned by W. Greatest. He constructed all of the gear himself. Transmitter at Rose Bay.
1922 – 2BV – Sydney
Experimental station owned by the Waverley Radio Membership utilizing a 15 watt transmitter. Initially a Morse code station (callsign N249). Their members cooperated with the institution of 2FC by offering reception studies throughout testings. Additionally they experimented with tv from 1933 (initially referred to as ‘radiovision’ within the early 1920s). This radio membership continues to be lively.
1922 – 2FA – Sydney
Experimental station owned by Syd Colville. Transmitter at Drummoyne. He began the Queensland Wi-fi Institute in 1914. Syd was later appointed a Director of 2SB. His Colville Wi-fi Co. constructed the wi-fi gear for Sir Charles Kingsford Smith’s “Southern Cross”, and later constructed many transmitters for broadcast stations.
1922 – 2AD – Sydney
Experimental station owned by Arthur Dixon, licenced particularly for utilizing broadcasts to check Mullard valves and Ferranti radio elements. Transmitter at Strathfield. This callsign was reissued on 5-2-1936 as a industrial licence in Armidale.
1922 – 2WV – Sydney
Experimental station owned by the Burgin Electrical Co. (operated by E. Morey). See 2BE 7-11-1924.
1922 – 2VM – Sydney
Experimental station owned by V.M. Derrick. Transmitter at Bellevue Hill. On air 2130-2200 each day. This callsign was reissued as a Moree industrial licence on 12-1-1957.
1922 – 2RP – Sydney
Experimental station owned by the R. Primer Radio Store. Transmitter at Gordon.
1922 – 2CH – Uralla
Experimental station owned by C. Henry utilizing a 20 watt transmitter. This callsign was reissued on 15 Feb 1932 as a industrial licence in Sydney.
1922 – 2LI – Sydney
Experimental station owned by the Radio Faculty Ltd. Transmitter at Bondi.
1922 – 2HS – Sydney
Experimental station owned by Harry Stowe. Transmitter at Drummoyne.
1922 – 2RA – Sydney
Experimental station owned by Ok. Vickery. Transmitter at Hurlestone Park.
1922 – 2ZG – Sydney
Experimental station owned by R. McIntosh. Transmitter at Lane Cove.
1922 – 2AK – Deniliquin
Experimental station owned by J. Claffery, with a six watt transmitter.
1922 – 2WR – Sydney
Experimental station owned by A. Shipley. Transmitter at North Bondi.
1922 – 2JM – Sydney
Experimental station owned by R. Marsden. Transmitter at Edgecliff.
1922 – 2DJ – Sydney
Experimental station owned by David Jones Ltd. Transmitter at Northbridge.
1922 – 2HP – Sydney
Experimental station owned by the founding father of Wi-fi Weekly, Will MacLardy, utilizing a 15 watt transmitter at Impartial Bay. On air 1500-1700 and 1900-2200. Turned 2SB/2BL, within the Smiths Weekly/Guardian constructing in Phillip Road. Will was their first Managing Director. Ray Allsop (2YG) moved all their gear. Their first three days noticed all seven Guardian telephone numbers jammed with congratulatory calls. (See 2SB 13-11-1923).
1922 – 2BB – Sydney
Experimental station owned by E. Crocker, with a 10 watt transmitter at Marrickville.
26 Dec 1922 – 2UW – Sydney
Broadcast station owned by Otto Sandell. Transmitter at Bellevue Hill. Otto produced 200 Sandell radio units per week from his United Wi-fi manufacturing unit in Kings Cross. First station to broadcast a political speech. Later issued a industrial licence, with a rise in energy from 15 to 400 watts. (See 2UW 13 Feb 1925).
1923 – 2DS – Sydney
Broadcast station owned by 15 12 months outdated Jack Davis, working on six watts at Vaucluse. (His callsign was additionally listed as 2JD). Carried out joint experiments with 2CM for A.W.A. transmitter improvement analysis. Jack later hosted a program referred to as “Church within the Wildwood” on 2CH and different stations throughout Australia.
5 Jun 1923 – 2MB – Sydney
Broadcast station owned by New System Telephones contained in the music firm W.H. Paling studio, utilizing 10 watts. All music broadcast was provided by Palings. Began by Oswald Anderson (later first supervisor of 2FC, then supervisor of the Australian Broadcasting Co., then supervisor of 2UW). Broadcast a number of concert events every week (additionally broadcast on 2YG). Usually heard in Wagga Wagga and Brisbane. Closed on 1 Aug 1923. Ray Allsop, (2YG), was Palings Chief Engineer.
21 Sep 1923 – 2LO – Sydney
Broadcast station owned by Len Schultz. Transmitter at Lane Cove. Len later designed 2GB (23 Aug 1926), and was their first Chief Engineer.
1923 – 2CS – Newcastle
Owned by Lionel Swain at Hamilton. Callsign 2CS was later proposed for a 1938 industrial licence at On line casino in a three way partnership by 2KA and 2KM, which by no means went to air. The callsign was reissued at Coffs Harbour on 16 Dec 1985.
23 Nov 1923 – 2SB – Sydney
See 2HP. Sydney Broadcasters Ltd. (licence quantity three issued underneath the 1923 Telegraph and Wi-fi Act). Their publicised opening on 15 Nov 1923 was postponed as a consequence of technical issues. Their first Administrators included Will MacLardy (2HP), S. Colville (2FA), R. Fry (2KC), and Cecil Stevenson (2IY). Cecil Stevenson (see 2UE and 2IY), designed and constructed the 2SB 500 watt transmitter. Put in and operated by Ray Allsop (2YG and 2ZH), and 21 12 months outdated Ernest Martyn-Jones within the Smiths Weekly/Guardian constructing, on 857 KHz. Joe Reed (2JR) was their first Chief Engineer. A “sealed set” station. First industrial licence within the Southern hemisphere. Their official opening on 13 Dec 1923 was on a number of loudspeakers in Martin Place, heard by a whole lot of individuals, and opened by the Put up Grasp Normal, The Hon. W. Gibson. Usually heard in Hawaii and California. They modified their callsign to 2BL (Sydney Broadcasters Ltd) on 1 Mar 1924.
1 Mar 1924 – 2BL – Sydney
Sydney Broadcasters Ltd. See 2HP and 2SB. Granted a relay licence for Newcastle in 1925, which by no means went to air. Ray Allsop (2YG) was appointed Chief Engineer in June 1925. Used a microphone exterior a window to broadcast the Put up Workplace clock’s hourly chimes in 1925. Elevated energy to 1,000 watts in January 1926 with a brand new transmitter at Coogee (5,000 watts in 1930, 20,000 within the 1940s, then 50,000 in 1962 at Liverpool). Tried “Talkback” applications in 1926, which had been deserted due to an absence of delay amenities. Experimented with relaying U.S.A. station KDKA in 1926 by way of a receiver at 2YG. They then relayed extra experimental applications from London, Paris, and Moscow, by way of a Netherlands Phillips brief wave transmitter, by way of Ray’s 2YG. On air 0700-0800, and 1000-2300 in 1927, and sometimes heard in Canada and the usA. As soon as postpone the air by a brief circuit attributable to a moth. After 2BL and 2FC closed every night time, Ray re-tuned their transmitters to shortwave; these experiments later grew to become the AWA shortwave station VK2ME, (later Radio Australia). (VK2ME was heard by Commander Byrd’s Antarctica expedition on 10 Jan 1930). Ray saved the station open for 18 hours in June 1928 for announcer Basil Kirke (later supervisor of 6WF, then Victorian and NSW supervisor of the ABC) to report by way of brief wave on the final leg from Fiji of Charles Kingsford Smith’s historic Pacific flight. The brief wave Morse sign was obtained by Rays’ 2YG station, and translated on air by Basil Kirke. (Ray later invented the Raycophone system of taking part in movie sound, being put in in 375 theatres by 1938). 2BL and 2FC had been bought by the NSW Broadcasting Co. on 1 Jan 1928, however from 22 Jul 1929, applications got here from the privately owned Australian Broadcasting Co. On air 0815-1100, 1200-1745,
and 1815-2230, with 60 minutes of promoting each day. Taken over by the A.B.C. on 1 Jul 1932. Their first broadcast of the Melbourne Cup was in 1932, with race caller Eric Welsh and winner Peter Pan relayed from 3LO. Broadcast choirs reside from their roof as their studio was too small. Broadcast a live performance from inside a coal mine beneath the Katoomba Scenic Railway in 1938. On 11-12-1938 they had been postpone the air when a hurricane broken their tower. Broadcast reside from the center of the Simpson Desert in 1939 utilizing a peddle transmitter. Australia’s longest working radio serial, “The Lawsons” (“Blue Hills” in 1946) was broadcast nationally from 1944 to 1976 with 7,095 episodes. It was written by Gwen Meredith who was awarded an O.B.E. in 1977. (Picture Caption) Early A.B.C. studio. (Picture Caption) Ian McNamarra.
9 Jan 1924 – 2FC – Sydney
Owned by Farmers and Co. Ltd (licence primary issued on 10-9-1923 underneath the 1923 Telegraph and Wi-fi Act) who wrongly believed that they’d cowl all N.S.W. The station was put in on their roof. Initially deliberate to function as 2LO. (Farmer and Co. Ltd. was additionally issued with licence quantity six (341 kHz,500 watts) as 2FL which by no means went to air). Testing from 15-11-1923 utilizing 500 watts was carried out with a receiver on prime of the Carrington Resort in Katoomba. Opened on longwave (273 KHz.) with a 5,000 watt transmitter at Willoughby, with two towers 200 toes tall and 600 toes aside, put in by A.W.A. The transmitter hut included a bed room for the technician. Their official opening broadcast on 10-1-1924 featured Gladys Moncrieff reside from Her Majesty’s Theatre, and was obtained in Japan and California. A “sealed set” station. The studio partitions had been full of seaweed for sound-proofing. First to broadcast reside from an aeroplane (DH 50), Jenolan Caves, Mt. Kosciusko, a coal mine underneath Sydney Harbour, and a church (they used 150 batteries to energy the church broadcast). Granted relay licences for six N.S.W. nation cities in 1925, which by no means went to air. Elevated on-air hours to 10 per day in April 1926. Moved to medium wave 678 KHz. on 2-10-1926. On air 0700-0800, and 1000-2300 in 1927, with good reception in Adelaide on crystal units. First “Empire Broadcaster” with A.W.A. shortwave relay (VK2ME on 20,000 watts) to Marconi stations (India, South Africa, 2LO London, plus shortwave), and R.C.A. stations (Canada and WGY New York plus shortwave), on 5-9-1927, between 0200-0500. (VK2ME was the primary Australian station to conduct F.M. experiments [mono only] in 1927 on 9 MHz, supervised by Ray Allsop from 2YG and 2BL). On air 0700-0815, 1030-1230, 1300-1630, and 1745-2330. Each 2FC and 2BL had been purchased by the N.S.W. Broadcasting Co. on 1 Jan 1928, nevertheless, from 22 Jul 1929, all applications had been provided by the privately owned Australian Broadcasting Co. On air 0815-1100, 1200-1745, and 1815-2230 with 60 minutes of ads every day. On 10 Jun 1928 they broadcast reside the arrival of the ‘Southern Cross’ airplane in Sydney, flown by Charles Kingsford Smith. Taken over by the Australian Broadcasting Fee on 1 Jul 1932. Broadcast interviews with King George V, Pope Pius XI, H.G. Wells, the Aga Khan, Adolph Hitler, and with two divers on the backside of Sydney Harbour, in 1932. Heard in Fiji, Hong Kong, the usA. and Canada. A 1942 month-to-month program appropriately titled “Until the Finish of Time” was broadcast reside from Lengthy Bay Gaol. It consisted of inmates singing and taking part in devices. Voted Sydney’s hottest radio station for information in 1943. The American Armed Forces Radio service used their studios to supply some applications throughout WWII. Put in a 650 toes excessive tower at Liverpool in 1962. Turned 2RN in October 1990. (Additionally see 2FC Emu Plains 1962). (Picture Caption: Commercial for the launch of 2SB (2BL), Sydney Morning Herald 2 Nov 1923. Their right on-air date was 23 Nov 1923.) (Picture Caption: Commercial for the beginning of 2FC exams, Sydney Morning Herald Four Dec 1923.) (Picture Caption: Commercial for the beginning of 2FC exams, Sydney Morning Herald Four Dec 1923.) (Picture Caption: Reception testing for 2FC in 1923.) (Picture Caption: BIG A.B.C. EXTENSIONS – DAWN TO MIDNIGHT, 35 HOURS MORE FOR CITY STATIONS – COUNTRY AREAS GET 15 MORE, A.B.C. Press Launch October 1946.) Vital extensions of the Nationwide Broadcasting Companies will function from 20th October as introduced by the Normal Supervisor of the A.B.C., Mr. Charles Moses. Hitherto it has not been doable to offer another programme in in metropolitan areas, despite the fact that there are two transmitters in every capital metropolis and Newcastle, till 11.45 AM. Nor has it been doable to present an uninterrupted service on regional stations. So far, Mr. Moses defined, it has been obligatory to shut down all nationwide transmitters for 12 hours each day for service and upkeep. Through the conflict this upkeep couldn’t be carried out earlier than the opening or after the closing of the broadcasting hours due to P.M.G. workers scarcity. A lot of the P.M.G. workers had been within the armed companies, significantly as specialists in such sections as Alerts and Radar. For a while the Fee has been anxious to increase to listeners the advantages of a steady service within the nation, and a whole various service all through the day within the metrpolitan areas. The Director-Normal of Posts and Telegraphs has now knowledgeable the Fee that with the return of males from the companies, he’s eventually in a position to present the technical workers essential to make this extension within the Nationwide Broadcasting Service doable. From October 20, A.B.C. transmitters will present two applications in every metropolitan centre from 7.00 A.M. to 11.00 P.M. Between 6.00 A.M. and seven.00 A.M. and between 11.00 P.M. and midnight, one station might be on air. Regional stations will get a whole protection from 6.00 A.M. till midnight. These extensions could have the impact of accelerating the on air broadcasting hours by 35 hours every week and 15 hours every week on regional stations. The A.B.C.s Controller of Programmes stated that an excessive amount of organisation had been obligatory within the A.B.C.s Programme Division to arrange for this alteration. The principle impact of this alteration might be to serve a programme of positive music interspersed with such service options because the Kindergarten Session and Each day Devotional Service from 07.00 till noon, whereas the interstate community might be presenting Mike Connors’ early morning session, the Hospital Half Hour, the Kitchen Entrance, Music Whereas You Work, and the Womens’ Session. The change will profit nation listeners in that these regional stations which had been closed throughout that
early a part of the morning will now broadcast the Kindergarten Session and those who previously closed later within the morning will now be capable to current the Womens’ Session. All Regional stations will be capable to get each. Earlier than this extension of broadcasting, all Regionals had just one or the opposite. The A.B.C. was particularly glad to have the ability to lengthen this Regional Service as a result of many nation listeners in Queensland and Tasmania had requested the Kindergarten Session, and listeners in different states had requested for the Womens’ Session.
7 Nov 1924 – 2BE – Sydney
Owned by Burgin Electrical utilizing 100 watts. Began as experimental licence 2WV in 1922. Cellphone No. 141. Supervisor Oswald Mingay (2XX) constructed and bought his Mingay radios, began the Australian Radio Faculty in 1930, and printed a number of radio periodicals. In June 1925 they in the reduction of to Tuesdays and Thursdays 1830-2100, as a consequence of monetary issues. From 23-8-1926 they shared their frequency with 2GB, who had been on air Sunday, Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. On 23 Dec 1926 they held a Radio Dance Night time in support of Most cancers Analysis with their Radio Jazz Band. Listeners had been requested to carry dance events of their houses, with company making a donation. On 3-3-1927 they broadcast from the Radio and Electrical Exhibition within the Sydney City Corridor. Off the air for a number of months in 1927 as a consequence of a hearth. On 17 Mar 1928 they requested listeners to jot down in itemizing the kind of applications they don’t like, and applications they want to hear. Editors Notice: was this the primary radio survey in Australia? Closed as a consequence of chapter on 6 Nov 1929, with their 870 kHz frequency taken over totally by 2GB. The 2BE callsign was reissued as one other industrial licence at Bega on 30 Sep 1937.
26 Jan 1925 – 2UE – Sydney
Regardless of fashionable perception, they didn’t begin as 2EU though owned by Electrical Utilities with Cecil ‘Pa’ Stevenson (the ‘father’ of business radio), from 2ZH, 2IY and 2SB/2BL). He was later an enormous advocate of F.M. The studios value £750 to construct, and £9 per week to function. On air 2000-2200 utilizing 150 watts. Ads value 1/-. The 80 toes excessive towers had been in his Maroubra again yard, the transmitter was on his verandah, and his eating room was his studio with all home-made gear. Cecil whistled whereas altering information to let listeners know that he was nonetheless on air. Usually heard in the usA. and New Zealand. Later moved to Cecil’s Radio Home retailer. First present industrial licence in Australia. Newspapers took one 12 months to say their existence. First station to experiment sending nonetheless footage by radio. Broadcast fortnightly old-time dances from the Horden Brothers Pavilion throughout the 1930s. Put in a 250 watt transmitter at Lilli Pilli in 1930 (1,000 watts at Harmony in July 1941, being turned on by Prime Minister The Rt. Hon. Robert Menzies). Moved to flooring 4 and 5 at Savoy Home in Bligh Road (2GB then moved into flooring six and 7). First often called “The Function Station”. They fashioned the Main Radio Community with 3DB in 1938. Criticised by the A.B.C. for ‘copying’ their “Hospital Half Hour” program in 1938 (see 7HO 13-8-1930). Cricketer Don Bradman performed the piano on their weekly “Name to Youth” kids’s program. First to play the six pips hourly (1939) from the Sydney Observatory. Began a weekly “Pricey Radio 2UE” program in 1939 with listeners mailing compliments, complaints, requests, and options. Their tower was wired with explosives by the Military in case of a WWII invasion. Used a 2CH studio when fireplace destroyed their very own studio in 1943. Often known as “The Fashionable Station” within the 1950s. Gary O’Callaghan (with Sammy Sparrow) had Sydney’s primary breakfast program for 28 years with 159 survey wins. He said that High 40 music would solely final six months. Gary’s son, Nicholas, labored at 2NZ and 2KM/2MC. Purchased by 2KO in 1956. John Legal guidelines began in 1956, turning into the highest ranking announcer in Australia, with over a million listeners till 2005. He retired in 2007, however returned to radio with 2SM in 2011. Commenced 24 hour broadcasting in 1957. Began the unique “High 40” on 2-3-1958, with Pat Barton (see 9AG within the separate Army Radio article) from 2KO, and “April Love” by Pat Boone as the primary primary. This format dramatically elevated their scores and income, with Bob Rogers, Tony Withers, and John Legal guidelines. Purchased the 2GZ Sydney studios in 1958. Often known as “The Brighter 2UE” within the 1960s, with their fashionable “Nationwide Previous Time Dance” program being relayed throughout Australia. First Australian station to make use of tape cartridges. First to legally broadcast “Talkback” (midnight 17-4-1967) with journalist Ormsby Wilkins (additionally see 2BL, 2SM, 3DB, and 3AK). Over a 10 12 months interval, homeowners had been the Lamb household, Kerry Packer (paid $21,000,000), Alan Bond, then then again to Kerry Packer (who sacked all of the announcers and began a “Talkback” format), then again to the Lamb household ($4,000,000), then to 3AW. Wrongly promoted as “First in Sydney” within the 1970s. Stan Zemanek continues to be the one announcer to be primary concurrently in Sydney and Brisbane. He handed away in 2007. (Picture Caption: Asserting the merger of 2UE/2GB.) (Picture Caption: Gary O’Callaghan) (Picture Caption: The Launch of the First 2UE TOP 40 Chart – Sunday Telegraph 2 Mar 1958.) (Picture Caption: Eric Baume 1939.) (Picture Caption: Unique 2UE Licence issued on 7 Nov 1924.) (Picture Caption: John Legal guidelines/Bob Rogers) (Picture Caption: MISSING in Sydney (0700 17-4-1967) however was overwhelmed.) HOW’S THIS FOR A LINEUP? – THE ‘ORIGINAL’ 2SM GOOD-GUYS FROM 1963. PHIL JOHN JOHN BOB MIKE DAVID PHIL JOHN
HALDEMAN MAHON FRYER ROGERS WALSH PATERSON HUNTER BRENNAN
OR ARE THESE THE ‘ORIGINAL’ 2SM GOOD-GUYS FROM 1963?
JOHN MAHON JOHN BRENNAN MIKE WALSH BOB ROGERS TONY MURPHY DAVID PATTERSON
by 2UE by seven hours. A information reader within the 1960s said “It wasn’t a really joyful weekend for 17 N.S.W. motorists as they had been all killed on the State’s roads”. Reintroduced a “High 40” format in 1969. Regardless of their Rock ‘n’ Roll and Talkback codecs, till the 1970s they continued to broadcast the Angelus Bells requires worship at 0600, 1200, and 1800. Bought 2NX in 1971, 4IP in 1978, and 2NM. First station in Australia to put in an Eight observe manufacturing recorder (1973). Rated primary with the “Rocktober”
promotion in 1974. Often known as “Lite ‘n’ Straightforward 1269” from April 1988. Purchased by 2WS in 1992 for $2,000,000 with laptop applications aside from reside breakfast and drive applications. Modified to “Sydney’s Hottest Nation” in October 1992, identified on air as “Kick AM 1269” specialising in line dancing music. A nostalgia format adopted, then talkback (once more). Bought to Invoice Caralis in 1999. (Picture Caption: Harry Millard 1935.)
25 Jan 1932 – 2GN – Goulburn
Initially established at Moss Vale (see 2MV Moss Vale 15-12-1930). Their pre-fab constructing, gear, and licence then moved to Goulburn. Opened with 50 watts (100 watts in 1937). Their official opening on 25-1-1932 was relayed to 2SM. On air Sunday 2000-2130, Tuesday 1215-1345, 1830-1900, 2000-2100, Thursday 1215-1345, 1830-1900, 2000-2100, Saturday 1830-1900, 1930-2000, 2030-2130. Closed Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Purchased by A.W.A. in 1934 with two workers (manager-engineer-announcer, and an workplace lady). Ernest Fisk was a director. Elevated hours to 0700-1345, and 1730-2230 each day in 1936. Relayed a number of applications from the A.W.A. put in 9MI; the world’s solely floating radio station, on the M.V. Kanimbla, from 1936 to 1939. Their first technician, William Cavanaugh from 2WC (1926), used a bicycle each day to trip to the transmitter to show it on and off.
Their transmitter was wired with explosives in WWII in case the Japanese attacked. Organised meals parcels for Britain on the finish of WWII. Broadcast quite a few balls throughout the 1940s. Broadcast 4 reside concert events annually by inmates from the Goulburn Gaol beginning in 1947. One announcer stated “demand the breast in mattress” as an alternative of “demand the perfect in bread”. First station to play a Bee Gees file. Taken over by 2NX in 1990. They now have a relay transmitter at Crookwell.
15 Feb 1932 – 2CH – Sydney
Owned by the N.S.W. Council of Church buildings utilizing 1,000 watts. Opening transmitter issues had been relieved by putting condoms over an oscillating valve. Managed by A.W.A. from 1-5-1936, with the Council of Church buildings offering all Sunday applications. Broadcast the longest working Australian sitcom sequence, “Fred and Maggie Everyone”, produced by A.W.A., from 16-3-1936 with 3,000 episodes. Their “Girls’s League” membership raised over £50,000 for WWII reduction, and in addition knitted greater than a million pairs of socks for the Purple Cross. When a hearth destroyed the one studio at 2UE in 1943, they used a 2CH studio. Their file library had over 25,000 information in 1945. Eric Pearce (later supervisor of 5KA and 3DB), and Bob Dyer (initially employed as a singer), began their radio careers right here. Eric had earlier labored for the B.B.C., and Bob had labored in U.S. radio. Their slogan was “Entertains the Entire Household”. Banned playing and liquor ads, and any point out of the Melbourne Cup. Launched their girls’s “Homemakers” membership and their kids’s “Pleased Companions” and “Smile” golf equipment within the 1940s. Tried singing climate studies 3 times each day in February 1948. Pioneered the “Stunning Music” format. First to broadcast stereo in Sydney (with 2SM) for 5 months of testing from August 1958. Each stations broadcast the identical program on the similar time, with the left and proper channels on separate stations. Listeners wanted two radios to listen to stereo. Often known as “The Actual Sound of Radio” within the 1960s. From 1965 to 1972 10% of their applications had been in overseas languages with English translations (as with 3XY). Purchased by 2GB in 1989. In 1992, John Singleton described the listeners as “The kind of individuals who learn all of the funeral notices to see if they’re useless”. Nevertheless, John later purchased the station. In 2015, 2GB said that they’d promote 2CH, as a consequence of a 2GB / 2UE amalgamation. The 2CH callsign was first issued to a broadcast station at Uralla within the 1920s. (Picture Captions: 1986; 1932; Barry Spicer 1980). Their file library had over 25,000 information in 1945. Eric Pearce (later supervisor of 5KA and 3DB), and Bob Dyer (initially employed as a singer), began their radio careers right here. Eric had earlier labored for the B.B.C., and Bob had labored in U.S. radio. Their slogan was “Entertains the Entire Household”. Banned playing and liquor ads, and any point out of the Melbourne Cup. Launched their girls’s “Homemakers” membership and their kids’s “Pleased Companions” and “Smile” golf equipment within the 1940s. Tried singing climate studies 3 times each day in February 1948. Pioneered the “Stunning Music” format. First to broadcast stereo in Sydney (with 2SM) for 5 months of testing from August 1958. Each stations broadcast the identical program on the similar time, with the left and proper channels on separate stations. Listeners wanted two radios to listen to stereo. Often known as “The Actual Sound of Radio” within the 1960s. From 1965 to 1972 10% of their applications had been in overseas languages with English translations (as with 3XY).
Purchased by 2GB in 1989. In 1992, John Singleton described the listeners as “The kind of individuals who learn all of the funeral notices to see if they’re useless”. Nevertheless, John later purchased the station. In 2015, 2GB said that they’d promote 2CH, as a consequence of a 2GB / 2UE amalgamation. The 2CH callsign was first issued to a broadcast station at Uralla within the 1920s. (Picture Captions: Len London 2 June 1982; Howard Craven 30 Jul 1984; Bob Rogers OAM; Bob Rogers.)
1932 – 2HX – Damaged Hill
Broadcast station owned by E. Jinks (see 2XL Damaged Hill 18-8-1931). The transmitter was at Railwaytown. Mr Jinks was in command of the native Division of Civil Aviation workplace. Initially on air on Sunday mornings. A spring broke of their solely wind-up gramophone. An attraction broadcasting a request for a substitute gramophone resulted in a number of being delivered inside minutes. Closed in 1937 when Jinks joined 2BH.
1932 – 2DN – Deniliquin
Broadcast station owned by John Parris. Operated from John Tasker’s Storage each Sunday. Programming was primarily reside native artists. Turned industrial licence 2QN on 2 Nov 1935. Callsign 2DN was beforehand issued as an experimental licence at Sydney in 1922.
193? – 2NM – Mudgee
Broadcast station owned by Harry Milton. Turned industrial licence 2MG on 2 Jul 1938. The 2NM callsign was later reissued at Muswellbrook on 14 Jan 1954.
1932 – 2KK – Kurri Kurri
Broadcast station owned by Matt Dodds.
29 Jun 1932 – 2WG – Wagga Wagga
Began by native academics, Eric and Nan Roberts, put in of their residence, utilizing 2,000 watts. Initially proposed by the Pleasant Farmer Broadcasting Syndicate. “The Voice of the Riverina”. Saved on air throughout flooding by an newbie working his radio hyperlink to the transmitter. Heard in quite a few nations. Their “Bushells Tea Get together Sing-a-Lengthy” was a highly regarded reside program. Their “2WG Girls’s” membership financed the institution of an Aged Care Centre in 1955 referred to as “The Haven”. Designed, constructed, and put in among the authentic gear for 2BS. Printed a daily e-newsletter referred to as “Behind the Dial at 2WG”. Launched their kids’s “Glee” membership within the 1950s. Station supervisor Yvonne Braid, retired in 2008 after 50 years with the station. Now has relay transmitters at Gundagai and Tumut.
1933 – 2LE – Meadow Flat
Industrial licence issued to Radio Company Ltd located between Lithgow and Bathurst, stating that they’d cowl all of New South Wales. Their studios and places of work had been put in in Sydney, however the station by no means went to air. This callsign was beforehand issued as an experimental station at Lismore within the 1920s.
1933 – 2EM – Dubbo
Owned by Ernest Mars. Closed on 29 Oct 1935. Earlier than closing, he helped the native Mechanics Institute launch 2MX. Ernest had beforehand launched 4EM in Charleville in 1923.
15 Dec 1933 – 2GF – Grafton
Their first supervisor was Charles Coldwell from 2XT. Licensed on 16 Aug 1932 with 50 watts, however criticised by the P.M.G. on 2 Feb 1933 for not opening. A.W.A. said they ‘forgot’, whereas opening 2AY and 2GN. Additionally criticised for having one individual as manager-announcer-technician. Put in a brand new studio in 1936 utilizing the unique 2FC gear. Broadcast a number of performs by the “2GF North Coast Gamers Membership”. Ernest Fisk was a Director. On air 1300-1400 and 1800-2200. Broadcast a weekly formal ball from the 1930s/1950s. Twice makes an attempt had been made to dig up and steal the whole copper earth mat round their towers. Postpone the air when a farmer dug up their cable. Relayed some applications from A.W.A. station 9MI, the world’s solely floating station, on the M.V. Kanimbla, from 1936-1939. Elevated energy to 100 watts on 30-7-1937 (1,000 watts in 1951, and 5,000 in 1977) with two towers 160 toes excessive and 625 toes aside. Used illegally late Saturday nights in 1939 by newbie operators with the callsign 2ZM. Often known as “The Voice of the Clarence”. On air hours had been lowered throughout WWII as a consequence of electrical energy rationing. Sacred music was performed for a full day in 1943 after 13 Wolf Cubs had been drowned in a boating accident. Information was relayed from the A.B.C., plus 2GB, 2KY, 2UE, 2CH, and 2WS. Broadcast 24/7 in 1945, 1946, 1948, 1950, 1954, and 1963 throughout extreme flooding. Dwell flood studies had been despatched by way of two-way radios from Military DUKWs. Acted because the Grafton Emergency Communications Centre in spite of everything different emergency communications had been flooded. 2LM, 2AD, 2KM, and 2MW helped with workers and gear, utilizing a rowboat to achieve the studio. Began a kids’s “Smile” membership within the 1950s. In 1954, 5 ambulances had automotive radios put in. Pressing messages had been broadcast on air to the ambulances (additionally see 2LM 1936). Announcers have served free breakfasts to the general public yearly since 1972 as a part of their Jacaranda Pageant sponsorship. Began 24 hour broadcasting in 1976. Gained a Wales Award for Excellent Group Service in 1978. An software for a relay transmitter at Coffs Harbour was refused. In 1979 they organised a Scrabble competitors in assist of the native Huge River Pageant of Arts. Purchased a standby transmitter from 2KM in 1980. Each their transmitters had been later bought to 2XL. A 5,000 watt standby transmitter was purchased from 4GG after they moved to F.M. Announcer Mike Summers broke the world file for the “Longest Steady Broadcast by One Announcer” in 1986, as acknowledged by the Guinness Guide of Data. (This World Document was damaged once more in 1994 by the compiler of all this analysis, Bruce Carty, broadcasting for 121 hours at 2CCC Gosford). Moved to the A.B.C. constructing in 1988 when the A.B.C. moved to Lismore.
30 Jun 1934 – 2BH – Damaged Hill
Began by Ronald Hipwell (founding father of 3SH), as “The Happiness Station” (later “The Voice of the Western Darling”) utilizing 100 watts. Ron was additionally the Chief Engineer. Formally opened by the Put up Grasp Normal on landline from Sydney. On air 0700-0900 and 1800-2230. In 1936 they purchased the unique transmitter used at 5BQ and 5DN. Packages pre-recorded at 5AD had been despatched by practice. Turned “The Barrier Miner Broadcasting Station” on 27-10-1936. Elevated on air hours to 0700-1230 and 1700-2300 after WWII. On 21-10-1944 they broadcast a one hour WWII reduction live performance being relayed on brief wave by the Royal Flying Physician Service. Began their kids’s “Smilers” membership, and broadcast a ‘cheerio’ name to passengers on all flights departing Damaged Hill within the 1950s. Jack Davey broadcast his Ampol Present from the City Corridor reside throughout Australia in 1958. Opened new shop-front studios in 1975, with an intercom permitting passers-by to speak to the announcers. Purchased by a Church of Christ minister, John Curtis, in 1984 for $167,000. A brand new constructing within the form of an outdated Phillips radio was opened on 20 Sep 1990, with a memento store and vintage radio show. Opened a separate F.M. service on 18 Jan 1993.
27 Feb 1935 – 2TM – Tamworth
First licensed as 2WO, however modified earlier than their opening broadcast from the Royal Resort, together with reside messages from 2SM and 2UW. Began by Tom Whitcomb and the Higginbotham household (see 2VM). On air 0700-0800, 1200-1400, and 1730-1900 each day with 50 watts, (1,000 watts in 1936) from a home on Manila highway. Sued most of their advertisers for non-payment of their first accounts. Opened a store promoting and putting in receivers in 1936. First nation station to broadcast all day (0700-2200). Began a listeners “Girls’s” membership with over 3,000 members, that includes announcer Edith Marshall, and a kids’s “Possum” membership with over 10,000 members within the 1930s. In 1937 they moved to Peel Road above the Farmers Co-op, then to a brand new constructing on the New England freeway in 1959. In October 1942 their Girls’s Radio Membership raised £1,500 to buy a coach airplane for the R.A.A.F. As the pinnacle station for the New England Community, they usually relayed applications to 2MO, 2AD, 2RE, and 2VM. In 1965 John Minson began his “Hoedown” nation music format, on relay to a number of stations. In 1971, Johnny Ashcroft was awarded three gold information whereas acting at their 36th anniversary. This led to the formation of the annual Golden Guitar Awards in 1973, with Tamworth turning into Australia’s “Nation Music Capital”. Additionally in 1973, with 2MO, they launched the annual Ag-Quip subject days in Gunnedah, turning into Australia’s largest major trade exhibition, and one of many largest on the planet. The New England Community was purchased by 2SM in January 1995.
1935 – 2II – Dubbo
Broadcast station owned by Max Moore. Closed in Might 1936 as a result of opening of 2DU.
7 Sep 1935 – 2KA – Katoomba
Began at Medlow Bathtub, with 100 watts in a home on the nook of Portland and Rutland roads. Put in by Wally Grant from 2KY, who additionally put in the 2LT gear. In 1937 the studio moved to Bligh Road in Sydney, taking applications from all six industrial stations. Often known as “The Happiness Station”. First nation station to relay a program to a metropolis station (New Years Eve procession to 2CH in 1935). Elevated energy to 1,000 watts in 1938 with a transmitter and studio at Wentworth Falls, put in by Chief Engineer G. Pollock (VH2XU). The transmitter was wired with explosives in WWII in case the Japanese attacked. Most applications got here from the 2GZ Sydney studio throughout WWII. They then moved to Katoomba above the Rural Financial institution, however had extra listeners in Lithgow. First station to broadcast faculty outcomes regardless of a Authorities ban. Began a listeners “Radio Service” membership within the 1950s with the slogan “The Voice of the (Blue) Mountains”. Thieves stole most of their Wentworth Falls studio gear in October 1951. Ward ‘Pally’ Austin (later 2UE) began his profession right here. Opened a relay transmitter (1476 kHz) and studio at Penrith. Later closed their Katoomba studio. Purchased by Mike Walsh in 1983, shifting right into a Penrith studio subsequent to his cinema. All of the fish of their lobby aquarium died on their opening day. Moved to F.M. as “The Edge 96.1 FM” on 23 Oct 1992. Their Wentworth Falls A.M. frequency was to turn out to be a 2LT relay. Their Penrith transmitter grew to become an unrelated separate service referred to as “Cool Nation 2KA” which closed on 24 Feb 2015. Additionally see 2FC Emu Plains 1962.
Oct 1935 – 2MX – Dubbo
Established by Ernest Mars for the Mechanics Institute of Dubbo when he closed 2EM.
31 Oct 1935 – 2GZ – Orange
First deliberate to open as 2GX. Formally opened by the Postmaster-Normal, Alexander McLachlan, from 3GI by way of landline. Began by the native Graziers Affiliation, however owned by the Ridley household. Their first supervisor, George Anderson, additionally oversaw the beginning of 2IN/2LV/2NZ, earlier than shifting to 2GB as supervisor. Produced a 40 web page “2GZ Journal” in 1936 explaining how a radio station operates. Their telephone was jammed by listeners for weeks wanting a duplicate. Jack Ridley, son of the homeowners, grew to become the supervisor of 2UE, after learning radio and tv in the usA. His brother, Alan, was the primary Normal Supervisor of CBN-Eight TV in Orange, with Jacks’ son Ian Station Supervisor. Claimed to have the best powered and most fully outfitted “B” class broadcasting station in Australia. Broadcast a expertise quest from Molongo in 1945 with a £50 prize. Off the air on 3-3-1950 as a consequence of a lightning strike on their tower, and on 10-9-1950 as a consequence of an influence failure, and on 21-7-1951 as a consequence of a heavy snowfall bringing down bushes over their energy traces. On 8-1-1951 their transmitter was saved from a bushfire by their technician interrupting this system feed to place out an pressing name for water vans and fireplace fighters. Night time-time applications got here from a Sydney studio with a landline to the transmitter till 1958. (This studio was additionally utilized by 2GB and 2UE for reside drama applications). 2KA relayed a few of their applications. Usually broadcast group singing from Bathurst, Wellington, Lithgow and Parkes. Their hottest program was “Behind the Dial”; a weekly expose behind the scenes in radio stations. Night announcer Frank Semple grew to become an early Radio Australia announcer. Fashioned “The Provincial Community” on 11-7-1938. Their slogan was “2GZ – Central New South Wales”. Jack Ridley was president of the Federation of Australian Industrial Broadcasters 1947-1950. A number of workers members fashioned a charity live performance band, touring nation cities. Began their “Junior Nation Service” membership for youngsters within the 1950s. Johnny Ashcroft began his singing profession on air right here. Employed John Legal guidelines in 1956 (additionally see 2PK, 3BO, and 3DB). In 1983 they failed in an try to buy 2MG, 2BS, and 2LF. They later moved in with CBN-Eight TV, and 2CR then moved to the 2GZ constructing. Moved to F.M. on 8-10-1999. The 2GZ A.M. frequency (1089 KHz.) was used to ascertain 2EL (Straightforward Listening). (See 2EL 8-10-1999).
2 Nov 1935 – 2QN – Deniliquin
See 2DN Deniliquin 1932. Began utilizing a 50 watt transmitter and identified on air as “The Riverina Station”. The station was destroyed by fireplace on 10-6-1939. A short lived station was then put in at John Taskers storage (see 2DN Deniliquin 1932), then on the outdated Faculty of Arts constructing. An software to maneuver to Wangaratta was refused in 1944. Area people teams then raised sufficient cash to avoid wasting the station. Bert Day began his race calling profession right here. In 1947, they performed 19% Australian music regardless of a quota of solely 2.5%. Launched a “Girls’s” membership within the 1940s and their kids’s “Cheerio” membership within the 1950s. In June 1950 they held a radiothon to boost funds for the Deniliquin kids’s
hospital. Purchased by 2WG on 1-7-1955. A brand new 335 toes excessive tower was erected in 1960, utilizing 9 miles of copper tubing for an earth mat. This tower was knocked down by a
storm on 30 Jun 2008. Misplaced an attraction towards the issuing of a separate licence on F.M. at Shepparton in 1989. They then opened a separate F.M. station in 1994. Breakfast announcer Paul Dix was on air for 52 years till he handed away in 2013 at 80 years of age. (Phot Caption: The beneath photograph is their announcer Fred Boyle.)
12 Jan 1936 – 2SL – Lismore
Broadcast station owned by Peter Hoare. On air Sundays. He first owned 2PH Gosford.
1936 – 2CJ – Cessnock
Broadcast station owned by Carl Johnson.
5 Feb 1936 – 2AD – Armidale
Designed by Harry Kauper from 5BG, 5CL, and 5DN utilizing 100 watts. Their first supervisor and announcer was R.A.F. pilot John Creighton from 2CH. Often known as “The Voice of the North”, on air 0700-0900, 1200-1400, and 1800-2200. Initially, most information performed had been donated by listeners. Purchased by the Armidale Categorical on 30 Jun 1936. Famend for quite a few reside exterior broadcasts, together with balls in Armidale, Guyra, Uralla, and Walcha. These broadcasts had been all the time fashionable and properly attended, regardless of consisting of solely a microphone linked to a P.M.G. landline. Different exterior broadcasts included Sunday church companies, weekly group singing from the Armidale Capitol Theatre (later from the stations Broadcast Home auditorium), ANZAC remembrance companies, and sometimes from store home windows. The “2AD Girls’s” membership established in 1938 raised cash for a number of local people service organisations, and members helped function the station throughout workers shortages in WWII. In 1942, a proposal to amalgamate 2NZ and 2AD at Guyra was accepted however by no means eventuated. On 25-6-1943 they broadcast an attraction for vehicles to go to the airport and lightweight up the runway with their headlights to allow an emergency touchdown. Launched a girls’s “Correspondence” membership within the 1940s, and a “Busy Bees” kids’s membership within the 1950s. Broadcast 4,666 paid birthday calls in 1945. Turned “The Voice of New England” in 1953 as a part of the New England Community (2TM, 2VM, 2MO, 2RE). Relayed a number of applications from 2GB, 2UE, and 2TM. Took over the operation of the Armidale Bureau of Meteorology from the Put up Workplace on 2 Jul 1965, till 18 Jun 1997, with announcers taking readings each three hours, utilizing gear put in of their again yard. Readings had been despatched by telegram (later telex) to the Bureau. Elevated energy to 2,000 watts in 1963, protecting Glen Innes. They then broadcast a number of charity appeals from Glen Innes, with some compered by 2GBs prime ranking announcer, Andrea. They opened a relay studio in Glen Innes in 1965 (closed 1969). Peter Allen began his profession right here, taking part in the piano for some kids’s applications. Established an outdoor broadcast van within the 1970s. Their fiftieth celebrations in 1986 included greetings from Sammy Davis Jr., Ita Buttrose, Kenny Rogers, and Prime Minister The Rt. Hon. Bob Hawke. Purchased by 2SM in January 1995. Their first transmitter was displayed within the Armidale Folks Museum, nevertheless its’ present whereabouts is unknown. Does any reader know of its location? Their callsign was beforehand issued as an experimental station in Sydney within the 1920s. Additionally see 2LV 30 Mar 1936.
1936 – 2NZ – Narrabri
Industrial station owned by 2GZ. Licensed for two,000 watts, however by no means went to air. The licence was later modified to 2IN (Inverell / Narrabri) in an try to mix their 2LV and 2NZ licences, however this station by no means went to air both, regardless of the studio gear being put in within the Courier newspaper constructing. (See 2LV 30 Mar 1936). The Courier studio room was re-equipped and used as a relay studio for 2MO for a short while from 1969.
30 Mar 1936 – 2LV – Inverell
See 2NZ (above). Listed as 2IV by S.T.C. who put in their gear. Opened utilizing 100 watts with Stuart Beattie (2CH) as supervisor/announcer. Owned by 2AD and the Inverell Instances. Often known as “Your Station”. Usually heard in New Zealand. Bought to 2GZ, altering their callsign to 2NZ on 25 Jan 1937 with 1,000 watts. N (North) and Z from 2GZ. (See 2NZ 25 Jan 1937).
10 Feb 1936 – 2LM – Lismore
See 2XN 22 Might 1930. First deliberate to open as 2RI. (Additionally see 2AY Albury 17 Dec 1930). Purchased by the Northern Star for £25, shifting into their constructing. Began with an A.W.A. 500 watt transmitter of their Chief Engineer’s residence at Alstonville. Usually heard in Melbourne and New Zealand. Native cities On line casino, Kyogle, and Ballina then all petitioned for their very own stations. In October 1936 they fashioned an newbie radio drama membership, hoping to current a weekly reside play. Their outdated tower was donated to the navy for the WWII conflict effort. Averaged 1,500 congratulatory letters every week within the 1940s. Announcer Tom Crozier (later highly regarded on 2UE), began his profession right here. Broadcast a number of reside concert events from the R.A.A.F. base at Evans Head. Sponsored a WWII victory picnic at Ballina, with 14,000 listeners attending. Cecil Woodland, pre-war supervisor, sued for lack of reinstatement after WWII. He was awarded 200 kilos. In 1945 they stayed on air for 72 hours offering emergency communications throughout extreme flooding. Their “Good Companions” kids’s membership had over 6,000 members. Within the 1950s, 5 ambulances had automotive radios put in. Pressing messages had been broadcast reside on air to the ambulances (additionally see 2GF 1933). Included Italian applications within the 1950s. Technician Eric Rowe was electrocuted by their transmitter. Closed 1500-1700 each day with the intention to use their solely studio for producing commercials. In 1950 they claimed to be the primary Australian station to play a microgroove file. The Lismore phone trade blew up in 1952 when overloaded by a radio attraction for donations to help two kids who had misplaced their mother and father in an accident. Leonard Teale began his profession right here as an announcer. Featured nation music of their “Radio Ranch” program, pioneering the format on Australian radio. Often known as “The Function Station”. Moved in with RTN-Eight TV within the 1970s. Now has a relay transmitter at Kyogle.
Three Jul 1936 – 2DU – Dubbo
Owned and managed by Doug Holmes (VK2MX). Their official opening on 5 Jun 1936 was cancelled when the Radio Inspector did not arrive for an inspection. Opened utilizing 100 watts. In its pioneering days they constructed a studio able to seating an viewers of 80 individuals, and had a library with 4,000 information. Walter Grant (from 2KY, 2KA, 2BS, and 2LT), was appointed supervisor in 1943. Often known as “The Western Station”. Off the air a number of instances as a consequence of a flooded studio. Usually broadcast telegrams for the Put up Workplace which couldn’t be delivered as a consequence of floods. Their “Wagon Wheelers” listener’s membership financed an outback cell child well being clinic. A number of WWII military camps close by held concert events courtesy of 2DU, with well-known stars Bobby Limb and Jack Davey. They elevated energy to 2,000 watts in 1953 with a 350 toes excessive tower, after making use of for 10,000 watts. Moved right into a historic constructing (beforehand a visitor home, then the native hospital) in 1953. Opened a relay studio in Wellington within the 1950s. Member of the “Mid State Community”, consisting of 2PK, 2BS, 2MG, and 2LF. Awarded the celebrated Wales Award for Group Service in Broadcasting in 1972. Bought 2PK in 1979, opened a 300 watt relay transmitter in Cobar on 1 Nov 1982, after which bought 2MG in 1983. Commenced 24 hour broadcasts on 22 Might 1990. Their authentic microphone is on show of their lobby. Commenced a separate F.M. service, broadcasting as ZOO FM on 7 Feb 1997.
17 Jul 1936 – 2NR – Grafton
A.B.C., relaying 2BL with some native applications. Northern Rivers service with a 7,000 watt transmitter close to Lawrence. Opening night time featured a operate broadcast from the Saraton Theatre. Their tower fell down in 1952. Their studio moved to Lismore in 1989. Now has a relay transmitter close to Tweed Heads. Their Lawrence studio and transmitter constructing (see photograph) is now a museum together with radio memorabilia.
14 Sep 1936 – 2RG – Griffith
The licence was granted in June 1935 to Radio Griffith, within the Space Information constructing (the Space Information was a significant shareholder, however when contacted for this analysis, they denied all data, despite the fact that in addition they acted because the stations promoting agent). The Space Information editor, Dr. Leo Jones, was additionally the Managing Director of the station, and later helped set up MTN-9 TV. They designed and constructed their 100 watt transmitter. On air 1800-2200 each day. Their opening was a reside broadcast of “Australia’s Novice Hour” with over 1,000 individuals attending on the Rio Theatre, with compere Terry Pricey. Usually heard in New Zealand. Their first supervisor and Chief Announcer was Cyril James from 2UE. An announcer as soon as emptied a jar of 78 R.P.M. needles out the studio window, and an irate lady then burst into the studio whereas the microphone was on, and berated the announcer as a result of the needles had scattered via her new hairdo. Often known as “The Voice of the Murrumbidgee”. Elevated energy to 2,000 watts in 1951. Then launched a well-liked Continental Music Membership that includes Italian and Spanish music performances. (Picture Caption: 1951 Continental Music Membership.) Launched their kids’s “Sunshiners” membership within the 1950s. Described by the Australian Broadcasting Management Board in 1954 as broadcasting “a lot beneath acceptable requirements in local people service”. Now has a relay transmitter at Lake Cowal. Present breakfast announcer Allan Wallett has been with the station for over 30 years.
1 Jan 1937 – 2BS – Bathurst
First deliberate to start as 2BX. Opened by the Postmaster-Normal, The Hon. Andrew McLachlan, on landline from Melbourne. The studio gear was designed, constructed, and put in by 2WG. Their 200 watt transmitter was constructed by Cecil Stevenson from 2UE. The studio, transmitter, file library, and workplace had been multi functional room. Proprietor Eddie Williams and his household lived within the second room (Eddie was beforehand a 2LT announcer). The station was bought for £200 in 1939. Often known as “The Centre of the West” and “Clarion of the West”. On 21-7-1948 they held an attraction for winter garments for the native orphanage. On 20 Aug 1948 they had been off the air as a consequence of a “mechanical breakdown”. On 23 Sep 1950 they broadcast a one hour selection live performance by inmates from Goulburn gaol. Began their kids’s “Kookaburra” membership within the 1950s. Purchased by Kerry Packer in 1968 so he might set up a directional aerial, to allow 3AK (which he owned, and which broadcast on the identical frequency, 1500 kHz) to broadcast 24 hours. Nevertheless, as soon as the aerial had been put in, the station was purchased by Ron Camplin (proprietor of 2MG) in 1969 (additionally see 2XL). He doubled their income in a single 12 months. Ron was awarded the Order of Australia in 1995 for ‘Companies to Broadcasting’. He began his profession as an workplace boy at 2CH. Unique member of the “Mid State Community” with 2LF, 2PK, 2DU, and 2MG. Opened a separate F.M. service on 2 Dec 1996. Now has relay transmitters at Blayney, Oberon, Burraga and Sofala.
28 Jan 1937 – 2NZ – Inverell
See 2LV Inverell 30 Mar 1936. Listed as 2MZ by S.T.C. who put in their 1,000 watt transmitter. Their telephone numbers had been Four and 9. Appearing Prime Minister, the Hon. Joseph Lyons opened the station. Their slogan was “2NZ, Northern New South Wales”. Official voice for 42 branches of the Nation Girls’s Affiliation. On air 0700-0900, 1130-1400, and 1600-2200 each day. Chief Engineer was OzBartle (later the primary Chief Engineer of NEN-9 TV in Tamworth). Jack Ridley from 2GZ and 2UE was the Managing Director. Broadcast quite a few reside performs by native teams, plus charity balls from 1938. Relayed information and a number of other different applications from half proprietor 2GB from 1 Jul 1939. Additionally they took the B.B.C. information by way of shortwave. John Twyfold was supervisor for 27 years from 1940. Fifth birthday celebrations in 1942 included reside broadcasts from the showground, the airport, and a City Corridor live performance. Usually supported native charities to boost funds for the conflict effort. In 1942, a proposal to amalgamate 2NZ and 2AD at Guyra was accepted however by no means eventuated. From 1949 they broadcast the A.B.C. information for 2 years earlier than altering again to 2GB. Put in a 339 toes excessive tower with a 900 toes diameter buried floor airplane consisting of 125,000 toes of copper in 1951. Broadcast each day ‘silo stacking’ bulletins at 0630 throughout harvesting intervals. Began their “Junior Nation Service” membership within the 1950s. Broadcast emergency messages constantly throughout extreme flooding in 1955, 1976, 1983, and 1984. Usually obtained on the Heard Island Antarctica base 1948-1954. Opened new studios in February 1971, and put in an A.W.A. 2,000 watt transmitter in 1972. Awarded a “Group Service Award” in 1974. A radio attraction for a million inexperienced ants in 1978 to make some anti-venom for an area boy was profitable. A listener survey in 1978 voted native information as the most well-liked program, and racing the least fashionable. Tried “Talkback” in 1981. Often known as “2NZ – the Rhythm of New England” from 1982. Modified their information supply from 2GB to 2UE in 1984. Off the air on Three Feb 1984 when a tree fell towards their landline to their transmitter. Emergency applications had been taped in half hour segments and pushed to the transmitter. Bought to 2VM in October 1986.
29 Apr 1937 – 2CR – Orange
A.B.C., relaying 2BL with some native applications from 0930-1130. Central Area of N.S.W. Their 10,000 watt transmitter was at Cumnock (later 50,000 watts). Formally opened by the Mayor, Dr. W. Matthews, with particular company, together with the Put up Grasp Normal and Minister for Defence, The Hon. Andrew McLachlan. Their opening broadcast got here from the Strand Palais, with leisure supplied by Jim Davidson with the A.B.C. Dance Band and Tex Morton. Moved into the outdated 2GZ constructing in 1977 when 2GZ moved in with CBN-Eight TV. Opened a relay transmitter at Dubbo in 1992, which now has some native applications. Moved into new studios in 1995. This callsign was beforehand used as an experimental station at Tamworth on 26 Jun 1925.
29 Apr 1937 – 2LS – Tamworth
Broadcast station owned by Lionel Todd. See 2CR Tamworth 26 Jun 1925. Closed in 1939 when Lionel moved to Sydney, accepting a place as a Radio Inspector. In all probability the final callsign issued for an experimental broadcasting licence. (All experimental broadcasting licences had been cancelled in 1939 as a consequence of WWII).
30 Aug 1937 – 2XL – Cooma
Licensed in April 1937. Their motto was “To Excel”. Tried a check broadcast on 20 Aug 1937 broadcasting a ball reside from the Dodd’s Resort and the Monaro Theatre. Wyatt Evans was Managing Director and first announcer and constructed the station on his property. Began with one skilled radio individual: their engineer John Scott from 2UE and 3DB. Briefly owned 2BE in 1941, then bought it to John Kerr (later an announcer with Scottish pirate radio station “Radio Caroline”). Often known as “The Southern Tablelands Station”. In 1946 a practice was reported ‘misplaced’ heading to Cooma. A message was broadcast for any listeners who had seen it. A listener telephoned saying it was held up by a snow drift. Elevated energy to 400 watts in 1947. Their weekly yodelling classes included requests from throughout Australia and New Zealand. In 1951, their solely announcer, Ron Camplin, was on air 0600-1400 and 1700-2300, seven days every week (Ron later grew to become the proprietor of 2MG, 2BS, and 2LF). John Scott designed and constructed a 1,000 watt transmitter from disposal elements in 1953 (2,000 watts in 1958). Began all day broadcasting in 1955. Steve Liebmann began his radio profession right here in 1958 as a 14 12 months outdated disc jockey. Broadcast all night time on Fridays in winter from 1960 to offer snow and highway studies for travellers. Began 24 hour broadcasting in 1964, after which used a Commer bus as an outdoor broadcast van in 1966. Relayed most 2CA night applications within the 1970s. John Scott died on the station in December 1972. New studios and a 4,000 watt transmitter had been put in in 1978. Purchased 7QT in 1982. Opened the primary NSW F/M. relay transmitter (Thredbo) in 1987. Now additionally relays to Perisher, Jindabyne and Bombala. Their workplace and studios had been later moved to Jindabyne. Cooma was the third city to be issued a industrial licence with this callsign, after Lismore and Damaged Hill.
1937 – 2SG – Snake Gully
Fictional radio station featured within the fashionable radio serial “Dad and Dave” till 1953.
1937 – 2SI – Singleton
Owned by newbie operator Alex Mather (VK2JZ) and the Singleton Argus newspaper. The licence was transferred to Lochinvar earlier than opening as 2HR (Hunter River Broadcasters), on 30 Aug 1937 (see subsequent entry).
30 Aug 1937 – 2HR – Lochinvar
See 2SI Singleton 1937. Hunter River Broadcasters, identified on air as “The Hunter River Station”. Owned by Alex Mather (VK2JZ) who later began 2GO, and by the Singleton Argus. The studio and transmitter had been put in by Geoff Partridge (VK2VU) at Lochinvar utilizing 300 watts. The constructing is now a home with the 2HR signal nonetheless in place, over 70 years after they moved out. The studio was re-sited above O’Brien’s grocery retailer in Excessive Road, Maitland, on 9-1-1939. Relayed 2GB from 1830 every night time. Began a “Listeners Radio Membership” within the 1940s. They modified their callsign to 2NX on 14 Jan 1954 with a brand new transmitter at Bolwarra (Maitland).
2 Sep 1937 – 2MW – Murwillumbah
Began by native radio sellers Carl and Tom Small, and the Budd household. Opened utilizing 100 watts (500 watts in August 1939, 1,000 in 1951, and a pair of,000 in 1952). Postpone the air in 1954 by a cyclone. Began their kids’s “Smile” membership within the 1950s. Closed at 2300 every night time with a track referred to as “Goodnight to You from 2MW”, with native singer Gwen Ryan till 1970.
In October 1938, they held, (with 4BH) a Radio Picnic close to Coolangatta, with 7,000 individuals. In March 1955, they carried out a radio-thon, elevating over £1,200 for flood victims round Lismore. They launched an workplace and relay studio in Southport in 1958. Closed their Southport studio and moved the workplace to Coolangatta in 1967 when 4GG opened. Often known as “The In style Station of the North East” and “The Voice of the Far North Coast”. Elevated energy to five,000 watts in 1972, with a directional aerial. They moved to Tweed Heads in June 1985. Launched an Straightforward Listening format in 1986. A 50 12 months outdated restored Buick automotive was received by a listener throughout their 50th birthday competitors. Purchased by 2SM in 1989. Opened a relay transmitter at Mullumbimby. Now often called “Radio 97AM”.
20 Sep 1937 – 2KM – Kempsey
On air 0730-1100 and 1730-2230. Reception was higher on Lord Howe Island than in Kempsey. Their authentic tower was moved to 2HD in 1939. Within the 1930s/1940s, they broadcast dance applications from an area corridor, regardless of solely having one microphone. At 7.45 pm the announcer would placed on a serial, then take their microphone to the corridor. He would return to the studio and put the microphone to air at 8.00 pm with dance music till he might return to the corridor. At 10.00 pm, with the band taking part in to air, he would return to the studio and placed on one other serial. Then he would return to the corridor and retrieve the microphone. Charged 2/6 for birthday calls; 5/- for cheerio calls, purchase and promote, and misplaced canines; and seven/6 for funeral notices. From 25 Aug 1950 they had been off the air for every week as a consequence of an announcers strike about unpaid wages. Launched their kids’s “Gumnut” membership within the 1950s. Well-known announcers included Tom Crozier and Peter Bosley, (later each at 2UE) plus John Pearce and Leon Becker (each later at 2GB). Virtually misplaced their licence as a consequence of a 1969 April idiot’s joke in regards to the give up of 10 Russian navy ships and one submarine to our Navy at Trial Bay. Elevated energy to five,000 watts in 1977. From 1978 breakfast applications got here from Kempsey, mornings from Coffs Harbour, and afternoons out of Port Macquarie. Often known as “The Voice of the Macleay”. Modified their callsign to 2MC (Mid Coast) shifting to Port Macquarie in 1982. Moved to FM as 2POR in 2000. (Additionally see 2PM Port Macquarie 26 Jan 2000). The 2KM callsign was used 2KY for a separate straightforward listening Sydney service 2000-2001, with well-known nostalgia announcer, Kevin O’Neill (later bought as an ethnic station).
30 Sep 1937 – 2BE – Bega
Owned by native farmers above Grist’s chemist (now Priceline) with a 50 watt transmitter, constructed by Director Morris Bell. On air 1200-1400, and 1800-2200 with a Colville 100 watt transmitter, as “The Voice of the Far South Coast”. Their telephone wasn’t linked till July 1938. Native information by their “Newshawk” was described as ‘a gathering of native information and gossip, with a pleasant financial system of language in a breezy and unaffected model’. Bankrupt in 1940 after being sued by the native tannery for feedback on air about their ‘evil odor’, which resulted in a £2,000 positive. Saved on air by volunteers till bought in June 1941 to 2XL, after which to John Kerr (from 2XL and 2PK) for £500. Broadcast appeals for blankets and garments wanted at native seashores after assaults on fishing trawlers by WWII Japanese midget submarines. John Kerr constructed a 1,000 watt transmitter in 1950 (2,000 watts in 1967). Launched their kids’s “Koala” membership and their listeners “League” membership within the 1950s. In January 1952, a radiothon raised £4,200 and 4,000 bales of fodder to help farmers devastated by bushfires. On 5 Feb 1952 they appealed for vans to maneuver 2,500 ravenous cattle to Cooma. Alan Wilkie’s climate profession began right here. Ray Rumble was supervisor and half proprietor from 1975. (Ray began his profession as a 2GB panel operator when 15 years outdated). Postpone the air by a twister in February 1978. Employed the Warren Daly Huge Band for his or her fiftieth birthday to recreate the music performed after they opened. Put in a studio in Batemans Bay. Opened Australia’s first industrial relay transmitter at Narooma on 28 Oct 1983. Purchased by music promoter, Glenn Wheatley on 1 Nov 1986. Bought to Hoyts Theatres on 30 Mar 1987, and have become 2EC (East Coast) on 1 Oct 1987. Purchased by Grant Broadcasters in 1990. Launched a separate service (Energy FM) on 24 Sep 1997. Their 2BE callsign was first utilized by a Sydney industrial station on 7 Nov 1924.
5 Oct 1937 – 2PK – Parkes
. Owned by Mayor Frank Spicer, utilizing 100 watts (200 watts in 1942, 500 in 1948, and a pair of,000 in 1958). Often known as “The Voice of the Golden West”. An announcer was sacked for saying “The Voice of the Soiled Dusty West” throughout a mud storm. The workplace, studio, and transmitter had been destroyed by fireplace on 23 Dec 1946. A standby transmitter was borrowed from 2GB. Their two towers had been destroyed by a extreme storm on 15-1-1949. Established the “Sunshine” membership (later the “Koala” membership elevating over £50,000 for a kids’s hospital, plus £80,000 for flood victims. Their technician had his personal program 1030-1200 each day from a studio on the transmitter within the 1950s. Sponsored a railway carriage transformed right into a cell medical clinic that travelled round Western N.S.W. Their studio grew to become flooded when the native dam burst. Member station of the Mid State Community with 2LF, 2BS, 2DU, and 2MG. John Legal guidelines resigned after someday as he was not allowed to smoke within the studio. Purchased by 2DU in 1981.
16 Feb 1938 – 2LF – Younger
Opened with a 500 watt transmitter working on 300 watts on the outdated Lambing Flats gold fields. Their 240 toes excessive tower collapsed when half erected. The studio was put in within the A.M.P. constructing and operated by 4 workers from 0700-0900 and 1700-2200. Opening broadcast was a radio ball from the City Corridor with 1,000 individuals attending. Often known as “2LF, the Pleasant Station”, then “The Younger and Progressive Station”. Usually heard in New Guinea. Their supervisor, John Stevens, was enlisted to assist with the WWII Military broadcasting stations within the Pacific, offering leisure for our troops. Their functions for a number of experimental F.M. relay licences in numerous close by cities had been denied in 1946. On Four Jul 1952 they relayed over 500 emergency messages throughout extreme flooding when all different emergency communication programs had been worn out. Opened a relay studio in Cowra in 1956, then one other at Cootamundra. Recorded a number of group singing, quiz, and expertise quest applications in 10 close by cities. Partly owned for a short while by 2GB. At one stage, they relayed 2WG from 1900. Broadcaster Ray Warren began his profession right here. Fashioned the Mid State Community with 2BS, 2DU, 2PK, and 2MG. Purchased by Ron Camplin (proprietor of 2MG and 2BS) in 1978. They had been the primary regional station to broadcast “Talkback” applications.
2 Jul 1938 – 2MG – Mudgee
Began by Harry Milton utilizing 100 watts as experimental licence 2NM (later reissued as a industrial licence at Muswellbrook on 14 Nov 1954). Opened with a broadcast by native artists from the outdated Resort Mudgee. Each speaker on the opening stated that the following factor Mudgee wanted was an aerodrome. Relayed A.B.C. information 3 times a day till closing on 21 Might 1942. Reopened on 13 Oct 1944, as a member of the Macquarie (2GB) Community. On air 0700-2200. Their early transmitter is displayed within the Mudgee museum. Began a “Radio Social” membership within the 1950s. Purchased by their supervisor, Ron Camplin, in 1958. Usually off the air as a consequence of flooding, nevertheless, stayed on air in 1959 with three toes of water within the studio. First often called “The Voice of the Tablelands”. Later a member of the Mid State Community, with 2LF, 2BS, 2DU, and 2PK. Bought by 2DU in 1982. Put in new studios in 1987.
1938 – 2CS – On line casino
Projected industrial station collectively owned by 2KA and 2KM. By no means went to air. This callsign was reissued to a industrial station at Coffs Harbour on 16 Dec 1985.
9 Jan 1939 – 2CK – Cessnock
Cessnock/Kurri Kurri. Coalfields Broadcasting Co. in Vincent Road with a 170 toes excessive lively tower at Neath. Initially licensed as 2CZ, however modified earlier than opening (see 2CZ Lismore 6 Jan 1930). Often known as “The Voice of the Coalfields”. Opened at 0530 to advise miners which coal pits to report back to each day. Previous to 2CK, this service was supplied by a city crier in every city. A journalist from the Newcastle Herald learn the information from their very own studio at 0545 (then the earliest radio information time slot in Australia). Closed at 1100, and reopened 1730-2200. Relayed a number of sports activities applications from 2UW. Their third studio fireplace, which destroyed every little thing, was attributable to a heater left on after the night announcer left. This closed the station. The licence, transmitter, and tower had been purchased by 2HR, and transferred to Muswellbrook. (See 2NM Muswellbrook 14 Jan 1954). Picture is their first supervisor, Albert Ryan. Second photograph is announcer Enid Hoggan in 1950.
7 Jun 1939 – 2LT – Lithgow
Their tower fell down two days earlier than opening. They used a wire over a tree as an aerial for his or her opening, which was a live performance from the Theatre Royal, chaired by Mayor and 2LT director, R. Fullager. Their 100 watt transmitter was located in a home at Bowenfels with their studio and the supervisor and his household. They coated 18 miles at day and 10 miles at night time. All of the studio and transmitter gear had been put in by Wally Grant (2KY technician) who additionally put in the 2KA gear. Their predominant income supply was birthday calls which value 2/6. In 1940, the Postmaster-Normal banned the station from making any feedback on industrial issues with out preapproval of the script as a result of airing of objectionable references”. Broadcast ballroom dancing reside each Saturday night time within the 1940s and 1950s with the “2LT Dance Band”. Banned all Andrew Sisters information in 1943. Elevated on air hours to 0700-1400 and 1700-2200 after WWII. Elevated energy to 500 watts in 1947. Often known as “Lithgow’s Sunshine Station”. Member of the Macquarie Community, and partly owned for a short while by 2GB. On 24 Dec 1956 they broadcast an pressing attraction for volunteers to help with firefighting. Bobby Limb and Daybreak Lake carried out their first present in Lithgow, being broadcast reside. Information reader Eddie Williams usually stated “right here is the information – change off”. Breakfast announcer Matt Ponsonby was blind. They had been off the air for 4 days in Might 2005 when rats shorted out each transmitters. Effectively-known announcers included John Tapp and Brian Bury. Opened a separate F.M. service in 1997.
20 Dec 1943 – 2NA – Newcastle
A.B.C. Turned 2RN in October 1990.
1945 – 9AP – Sydney
Callsign utilized by the Australian Military Facilities Service throughout WWII to check broadcast station gear at Rose Bay on 980 kHz. The 10 to 200 watt stations had been despatched to 21 areas within the Pacific to entertain our WWII troops (every station was first constructed right into a truck; nevertheless, two totally outfitted vans had been stolen). The Australian Airforce additionally established a number of broadcast stations all through the identical areas. QSL playing cards are uncommon and extremely prized.
1948 – 2KS – Kiama
A.B.C. Kiama Service. Moved to Wollongong as 2WN in March 1959.
29 Jul 1948 – 2NB – Damaged Hill
A.B.C., relaying 5CL with 1,000 watts, two workers, and one hour of native enter each day. Ravaged by fireplace in 1966, with native information being learn down a phone line from the phone trade. Moved right into a ten toes large store with the typist stopping whereas the microphone was on.
1948 – 2TN – Tenterfield
A.B.C. Tenterfield Nationwide service. Projected station which by no means went to air.
9 Nov 1948 – 2NU – Tamworth
A.B.C. Relay of 2BL. Opened by the A.B.C. Chairman, R. Boyer, with a brief studio within the City Corridor. Launched native information and sport applications in 1950; farming applications in 1953; and an area girls’s program in 1960. Their transmitter was at Manilla. Relays to 2GL Glen Innes and 2AN Armidale.
15 Nov 1948 – 2TR – Taree
A.B.C. Initially a relay of 2NC Newcastle, then 2NR Grafton. Has relayed 2KP in Kempsey (now Port Macquarie) since 22 Apr 1996.
Oct 1949 – 2LG – Lithgow
A.B.C. Relay of 2CR Orange. The 2LG callsign was beforehand issued as an experimental station in 1926 at Goulburn.
1949 – 2NS – Narooma
A.B.C. Narooma Service. Moved to Bega as 2BA in Might 1955.
1952 – 2NI – Norfolk Island
Began in 1948 by the Division of Civil Aviation utilizing one watt, to advise the arrival of aeroplanes and provide ships (a file was performed into the microphone earlier than and after every announcement). Their first broadcaster was Ray Hoare (VK9RH). From 1952, they broadcast from the native phone trade (20 subscribers), between 1000 and 1200 (broadcasts had been operated by the telephonist). Elevated their energy to 10 watts in 1960. Additionally they produced the native newspaper (two pages as soon as every week). Hearth destroyed the station in 1970. Reopened in 1971 within the native library utilizing 50 watts. At present 70% of applications are by native volunteers and 30% are relays of the A.B.C. Faculty kids function the station some afternoons. Their licence circumstances ban all night time applications, energy will increase, and promoting. In 2015 the Authorities took over the station and dismissed 5 announcers whose political viewpoints had been deemed to be not acceptable. 2NI now additionally broadcasts on F.M.
21 Feb 1953 – 2RE – Taree
Owned by Reginald Eagling. Their first studio and workplace had been underneath the R.S.L. membership. Their outside opening ceremony was rained out. The opening was carried out by 2SM announcer Tom Jacobs (who later helped begin 2GO) and Taree Mayor Ron Butterworth. First supervisor was Bruce Valentine (from 2BE, 2MG, 2CA, 2PK, 2UW, and 2SM). Began with a 500 watt transmitter from 4AK (2,000 watts in 1954). Their tower fell down twice earlier than opening, and once more in 1965. Often known as “The Voice of the Manning”. Opened file and gramophone outlets in Taree and Wingham regardless of criticism from competing outlets. Chairman of Administrators, Ron Butterworth, was a solid member in a 1953 Anzac tribute. His final learn scripted line was “For us they fought, and of their dying, braved dying cheerfully”; he then died on air. Technicians used a bicycle to journey to the transmitter. Broadcast civil defence warnings throughout extreme floods. Their technician was as soon as lowered to the transmitter by a helicopter to maintain them on the air. Relayed some 2TM applications from December 1956. Obtained many requests from Sydney for his or her Hillbilly applications. That they had over 3,500 members of their kids’s “Smilers” membership. Moved into a brand new constructing on 20 Nov 1956 to keep away from repeated flooding. They deliberate to ascertain a relay transmitter at Port Macquarie, however had been overwhelmed by 2KM (2MC). Often known as “The Voice of the Mid North Coast” within the 1960s. established, with the Manning River Instances, ECN-Eight TV on 27-5-1966, with the previous 2RE supervisor Alan Thompson as supervisor. George Gibson (later at 2UE) began his profession right here. Opened
relay transmitters at Gloucester and Foster. Moved into the ECN-Eight TV constructing when ECN-Eight TV grew to become a relay of NEN-9 TV in Tamworth. Turned a part of the 2SM Tremendous Radio Community in January 1995. Opened a separate F.M. service on 29 Jan 1997.
14 Jan 1954 – 2NX – Maitland
See 2SI Singleton (1937) and 2HR Lochinvar (30-8-1937). Through the 1950s/1970s, whereas owned by Catholic Broadcasting, they relayed night applications to 2NM, on air as 2NXNM. Moved to the Newcastle Herald constructing in Newcastle in 1955 after extreme flooding ruined their Maitland studios. Previous to the unsuccessful April 1967 referendum, 2NX campaigned towards the Hunter and Northern N.S.W. turning into a separate State. Purchased by 2SM on 1-1-1972 (different homeowners additionally embody Austereo and Southern Cross). Launched the profitable “Rocktober” promotion in 1974. Moved to Charlestown in 1988. Modified to F.M. on 29-5-1992 as NXFM. Their 1341 kHz AM frequency was taken over by Sky Sports activities Radio (2KY). The photograph is their 1965 studio.
14 Jan 1954 – 2NM – Muswellbrook
See 2NM Mudgee 1930s and 2CK Cessnock 9 Jan 39. Formally opened by Ray Allsop from the Australian Broadcasting Management Board (additionally see 2YG 1921 and 2BL 1924). All current got a tour and rationalization as to how a radio station operates. Opened on the identical day as its sister station 2NX, and on air reside one hour per day from a 2NX Maitland studio. Gordon McBrien was their first announcer. All different applications had been a relay of 2NX till the Muswellbrook studios had been inbuilt August 1955. Broadcast from a makeshift studio at their transmitter when floods destroyed their landline from 2NX; these transmissions being organised for Maitland by Gordon McBrien who broadcast 10 hours per day for seven weeks, with 10 native volunteers offering information and conserving the station on air for the opposite 14 hours per day. Unsuccessfully utilized for Newcastle’s tv licence. Through the 1960s/1980s they relayed 2NX from 1800, figuring out as 2NXNM. Elevated energy to five,000 watts in 1984. Opened a separate F.M. service within the 1990s (A.M. on 981 kHz which is heard commonly in New Zealand, and 98.1 F.M.). Additionally they have a narrowcast outlet referred to as “Scorching Nation”.
1954 – 2ML – Murwillumbah
A.B.C. Relay of 2NR Grafton.
Jan 1954 – 2KP – Kempsey
A.B.C., relaying 2BL till introducing some native applications from 5 Mar 1956. Transmitter at Smithtown. Has relayed to 2TR in Taree since 22 Apr 1960. Opened a studio at Coffs Harbour in 1997 and moved their former Kempsey studio to Port Macquarie in February 2004.
Might 1955 – 2BA – Bega
A.B.C., relaying 2BL with some native applications 0600-0800 and 1700-1900. Their studio was within the Shire Council constructing (later the Co-Op constructing – now above Woolworths). First opened as 2NS in Narooma in 1949, relaying to 2CP in Cooma. Climate studies had been obtained from H.M.A.S. Albatross in Nowra. Now has relay transmitters at Batemans Bay and Eden.
12 Jan 1957 – 2VM – Moree
“The Voice of Moree”. Began by the Higginbotham household (see 2TM) and native businessmen H. Sullivan (proprietor of the Moree Champion newspaper), and Barry Roberts. First Chairman, Jack Jones, lobbied for a number of years for the licence, citing the necessity for native data throughout flooding. Usually broadcast Balls that includes the “White Rose Orchestra”. After a number of infants died on the Moree hospital in 1964 as a consequence of a heatwave, the station held a radiothon to boost funds for air-con. Relayed a number of applications from 2TM. Nick Erby began his media profession right here. Purchased 2NZ in October 1986. First regional station to be granted a supplementary F.M. licence (on air 19 Might 1990). Bought to 2SM in January 1995. Now has relay transmitters at Lightning Ridge, Collarenebri, Goondiwindi, Walgett, and Mungindi. The photograph is their 1986 studio. Additionally see 2VM Sydney.
Feb 1957 – 2GL – Glen Innes
A.B.C. Relay of 2NU Tamworth. This callsign was first utilized in 1929 at Lismore.
1959 – 2AW – Sydney
Pirate station on 1485 kHz operated by Vaucluse Excessive Faculty pupils. Closed by the P.M.G.
6 Mar 1959 – 2WN – Wollongong
A.B.C., relaying 2BL with some native applications. Wollongong Nationwide service. Began as 2KS in Kiama in 1948, earlier than shifting to Wollongong. Held a radiothon in 1990 to boost funds for Newcastle earthquake victims. Moved to F.M. in March 1991, with 2RN (Radio Nationwide) then launching on their A.M. frequency.
Might 1961 – 2UV – Sydney
Instructional licence. First college station in Australia broadcasting publicly, utilizing an outdated RAAF AT-14 200 watt transmitter on 1750 KHz. Positioned at Kensington (later moved to the outdated 2UE mast at Harmony with a bigger RAAF AT-20 500 watt transmitter). Their licence was for college lectures solely, and banned all music. By 1962 they had been broadcasting thirty separate programs with over 1,000 price paying college students. They then used an outdated RAAF AT20 transmitter with a lease from Harmony Council of the outdated 2UE tower. Experimented with
tv applications on U.H.F. in 1966.
1962 – 2FC – Emu Plains
A.B.C. Projected station which by no means went to air (thank goodness). For use instead of 2FC Sydney (5 Dec 1923) in case a nuclear assault destroyed all Sydney radio stations throughout the chilly conflict. The tower was nonetheless within the Emu Plains jail farm till 2007. At one stage, the proposal included 2KA utilizing the transmitter as a relay in return for sustaining it, except wanted by 2FC, however they had been later given a separate relay licence on the similar web site. (See 2KA Katoomba 7 Sep 1935).
Feb 1962 – 2AN – Armidale
A.B.C. Armidale Nationwide service. Relay of 2NU Tamworth.
Jun 1964 – 2UH – Muswellbrook
A.B.C. Higher Hunter service. Relay of 2NC. Some native applications from 1990 in a home reverse the Railway station. Now relays to Scone, Aberdeen, Singleton, Murrurundi, and Merriwa.
1964 – 2PR – Sydney
Pirate Radio station deliberate by singers Lee Gordon and Bobby Darin on a ship off Sydney.
Dec 1966 – 2CP – Cooma
A.B.C. Relay of 2BA Bega.
1969 – Norfolk Island
Pirate radio station owned by an area electrical retailer, in an try to create a requirement for the radios he was attempting to promote. Closed by the Radio Inspector after 9 days. An try to realize a industrial licence then failed when officers in Canberra and Norfolk Island couldn’t agree on who had the licence issuing rights.
19 Nov 1971 – 2GO – Gosford
First Central Coast station, launched by Central Coast Broadcasting and Keith Graham in 1971. Keith later launched the Wesgo community (see 2WS Sydney 23 Nov 1978). Now on F.M. The 2GO A.M. frequency, tower, and transmitter are actually used for an Italian service from Sydney supplied by Rete Italia. Their directional antenna is one in every of three in Australia put in utilising three towers.
Four Jun 1972 – 2ST – Nowra
Southern Coast and Tablelands. Often known as “2ST – A part of Your Life”. Their “Swap Time” program was fashionable for 40 years. Now has relay transmitters within the Southern Highlands protecting Moss Vale with some native applications (see 2MV Moss Vale 15-12-1930), plus Ulladulla. Purchased 2EC Bega in 1990. Bought to grant Broadcasters in 2015.
Aug 1972 – 2BY – Byrock
A.B.C. On relay from the A.B.C. studios in Orange and Dubbo. (Some applications from the Dubbo studio are relayed to Lord Howe Island and Norfolk Island).
1974 – 2LH – Lord Howe Island
Opened within the Public Corridor earlier than shifting to the outdated Qantas Flying Boat Base on the finish of the wharf. Moved once more in 1988, and adjusted to F.M. with a group licence.
19 Jan 1975 – 2JJ – Sydney
A.B.C. An experiment just like 3ZZ Melbourne, with youth applications, often called “Rock with out the Roll”. The world’s first 24 hour non-commercial rock music station. Their first file, “You solely like me coz I’m good in mattress”, had already been banned by the Licensing authorities. A.B.C. administration accused the station of broadcasting ‘offensively obnoxious objects’. A launch social gathering for an AC/DC album was closed by the police when it received out of hand. Closed by the workers in July 1975 to protest about poor protection on 2,000 watts. Reopened with 10,000 watts. Launched The Little River Band album “Goals of Love”. Sued by the N.S.W. Commissioner of Police for slander. The A.B.C. then broadcast an apology and retraction. Moved to F.M. as 2JJJ in July 1980. Picture is their early studio.
9 Jun 1975 – 2EA – Sydney
Ethnic Australia with ethnic applications. Initially established by Al Grassby (Minister for Ethnic Affairs) to offer Authorities data corresponding to Medicare and different advantages to migrants. A proposal by the Australian Authorities for the A.B.C. to take over the station in 1976 was not taken up. Turned the Particular Broadcasting Service in 1978, presenting applications in 44 languages (57 languages in 1990 and 75 languages in 2013). Now relays to Wollongong and Newcastle. Pictured is their predominant studio.
13 Might 1978 – 2CT – Campbelltown
Group licence with some circumstances as per a industrial licence. Closed by the Australian Broadcasting Tribunal as a consequence of monetary issues and breaches of their licence circumstances on 1 Jun 1981.
13 Nov 1978 – 2WEB – Bourke
Group (initially instructional) licence. Western Schooling Bourke. Their three letter callsign was issued in error by the A.B.T. with the misapprehension that they had been an F.M. station. They purchased 4VL in 1986. They now have F.M. relays at Wilcannia, Coonabarabran, Walgett, and Lightning Ridge.
23 Nov 1978 – 2WS – West Sydney
Opened at 1224 A.M. on 1224 kHz with 5,000 watts with Managing Director Keith Graham from 2GO, as had been lots of their announcers (each stations later merged because the Wesgo community). A authorized problem to their licence by 2SM was misplaced. Three hours earlier than opening, each transmitters failed. Began in an outdated cottage which was later donated to a charity. First licensed to cowl solely Western Sydney (Parramatta to Emu Plains), with a transmitter at Prospect. Initially often called “Your Station 2WS 1224” (later “The Best Reminiscences – Newest Hits Station”). Don Burke and Jonathan Coleman began their careers right here. Three executives had been killed in a 1984 automotive crash when driving from 4GY after their relaunch. Moved to F.M. in June 1993, identified on air as WSFM. Following authorized challenges, they now cowl all Sydney with an Artarmon transmitter and new studios in Ryde. Their 1224 kHz frequency is now utilized by Radio for the Print Handicapped (2RPH). Their directional aerial is one in every of solely three in Australia utilizing three towers.
1 Jan 1979 – 2OO – Wollongong
The station was opened by Jon English reside main a crowd singing the track “Auld Lang Syne” on New 12 months’s Eve. They had been then formally opened by the Wollongong Mayor, Frank Arkell. Now on F.M. as i98FM.
1982 – 2MC – Port Macquarie
Mid Coast Radio. (See 2KM Kempsey 20 Sep 1937). Their supervisor was Pat Maher from 4AY and 4NA. Moved to F.M. on 26 Jan 2000, with 2PM launching on their 531 kHz frequency. Pictured of their studio is Gary O’Callaghan.
11 Feb 1983 – 2RPH – Sydney
Radio for the Print Handicapped. Began testing with 500 watts exterior the published band from a studio at 2UV, utilizing their transmitter hut and tower. Packages got here from a 2SM studio from April 1983. Moved to the unique 2WS 1224 KHz. A.M. frequency in March 1993 with 5,000 watts after 2WS moved to F.M. Recognized on air as “Your Studying Service”. They now have F.M. relays in Newcastle and Wollongong.
16 Dec 1985 – 2CS – Coffs Harbour
Moved to F.M., with 2HC beginning on their former 639 kHz frequency in 2000. Their format is Grownup Modern, with music from the 1970s onwards. This callsign was initially issued as an experimental licence at Newcastle in 1924. Again in 1938 a three way partnership with 2KA and 2KM was going to make use of the 2CS callsign for a industrial station at On line casino which by no means went to air.
1 Oct 1987 – 2EC – Bega
East Coast Radio. (See 2BE Bega 30 Sep 1937). Now has relay transmitters at Narooma, Eden, Merimbula, and Batemans Bay.
1987 – 2GU – Goulburn
A.B.C. Now often called 2RN.
1990 – 2PB – Sydney
A.B.C. Parliamentary Broadcasting community, utilising the ABC’s standby transmitter. Broadcast Muzak model music between each day Parliamentary sittings. Closed in a single day and on non-sitting days. Began a 24 hour information service (“A.B.C. Information Radio”) in August 1994 with 16 NSW relay transmitters.
22 Sep 1994 – Rete Italia – Sydney
A Excessive Powered Open Narrowcast (HPON) service with Italian programming. Most applications are on relay from Melbourne. Rete additionally has eleven HPON, two narrowcast and 44 narrowband shops.
Eight Oct 1999 – 2EL – Orange
Easy Listening Radio. Began on the previous 1089 kHz A.M. 2GZ frequency after they moved to F.M. Owned by 2SM. Discovered responsible by the A.C.M.A of content material guidelines breaches in 2008 and 2009.
26 Jan 2000 – 2PM – Port Macquarie
Began on the 2MC (2KM) former 531 kHz A.M. frequency after they moved to F.M. Owned by 2SM. Discovered responsible by the A.C.M.A. of breaching native content material guidelines in 2008 and 2009.
16 Dec 2000 – 2HC – Coffs Harbour
Began by Ray Gamble on the 2CS former 639 kHz A.M. frequency after they moved to F.M. Often known as “Radio 639”. Owned by 2SM. Discovered responsible by the A.C.M.A. of breaching native content material guidelines in 2008 and 2009.
25 Aug 2004 – 2KA – Penrith
Often known as “Cool Nation 2KA”, and “The Better of New and Basic Nation”, with the outdated 2KA Katoomba callsign and Penrith transmitter. Closed on 24 Feb 2015.
Letters to the Editor
“You may have so many ads that 2GB solely places information on to present the announcer a break between them”.
Letter to 2GB from a listener in 1931.
“There are too many vocal objects on 2BL. Final night time they performed seven vocals, however solely two instrumentals”.
Letter to the Editor, 6-5-1927.
“A lot of the music one hears on 2BL and 2FC resembles two cats snarling at one another in a kerosene tin. It’s exceptional that receivers don’t break into items when a few of that classical rot comes on”.
Letter to the Editor, 8-1-1932.
“It’s about time 2KY woke as much as themselves and improved their sign or get off the air”.
Letter to the Editor, 21-3-1930.
“Some radio stations succeed every week in attaining the not possible; that
of broadcasting a program even worse than that of the earlier week”.
Quote from the Chief Justice of N.S.W., Sir Frederick Jordan.
“2FC has a callous disregard of marketed programmes, and shows
irresponsibility by beginning or ending quite a few tunes within the center”.
Letter to the Editor, 29-7-1927.
“I feel Open Line Radio is a fad factor. I don’t imagine it should turn out to be a dominant type of programming in Sydney”.
Quote from an ex 2GB govt earlier than 2GB grew to become the primary station in Sydney, because of an Open Line format.
“Most Australian music on radio is just not severe music, however small minded gibberish about gums, galahs, and Gundagai”.
Remark from a Sydney Morning Herald critic in 1952.
I’m a College, proper in your room.
I’m an Opera sung by your fireplace.
I’m an orchestra to set your toes a-dancing.
I’m a band to enthuse your musical soul.
I’m an orator, whose eloquence holds you continue to.
I’m a violin recital, rendered by a grasp at your aspect.
I’m a statesman, conferring with you on the nation’s wants.
I’m a diplomat, voicing a overseas friendliness.
I’m a health care provider, coming to your property with out cost.
I’m a banker, watching your laid-away kilos.
I’m a pacesetter of trade, analysing the financial development.
I’m a newspaper, describing occasions as they occur.
I’m a drama, performed in your parlour.
I’m a debate, the place you hear each side of the day’s issues.
I’m a soccer recreation, with thrills by the rating.
I’m a boxing championship, with a seat on the ringside.
I’m a governess, educating your kids every day.
I’m a good friend, conserving you firm.
I’m a scientist, revealing wonders that you just knew not of.
I’m a patriot, kindling anew your love of nation.
I’m a preacher, reawakening your religion in human nature.
These I’m and extra. But, poor silly males simply name me radio.
Letter to the Editor, 30-9-1927.
“If broadcasting stations are going to cater for spiritual our bodies, punters,
detached cooks, individuals who can’t learn, climate prophets, and different
uninteresting topics, they are going to all put us to sleep”.
Letter to the Editor, 9-9-1927.
“Lower out church buildings, soccer matches, climate studies, cookery
lectures, announcers opinions, clock chimes each half hour,
children tales, lies, and pious hymn singing, and allow us to have
one thing value listening to; not the doleful dreamy drivel
we have now suffered for thus lengthy”.
Letter to the Editor 9-9-1927.
“I’m sick and bored with ranking primary on a station that charges
On-air quote from John Legal guidelines on 2UW.
“Radio stations could be a lot better locations with out egotistical
Quote from a 2UW govt.
“If 2FC and 2BL applications don’t enhance I’ll flip my aerial
into a garments line”.
Letter to the Editor, 6-5-1927. Ward (Pally) Austin.
2KA - 2UE - 2GB - 2UW
“We listeners-in don’t like what known as classical music, as we
usually are not educated for it”.
Touch upon 2FC applications in a letter to the Editor, S.M.H. 17-2-1932.
Australia-wide promotion for “Wherever You Go, There’s Radio” – September 1959.
Typical 1920s studio – mic, pianola, turntable.
Rock ‘n’ Roll Cats Nostalgia Crystal Radio Cat Radio Programming Cat
Oldies Music Cat Disco Cat Fan of A.M. Cat Microphone Testing Cat The children keep residence since I put in the radio
1924 WIRELESS DISPLAY
A web page from a McNair Survey Diary to point listener responses (station scores) from 5-30 AM to midnight.
Effectively-known Sydney announcers from 1937